MAR. 11, 2013

Three researchers earn Pasarow Awards

Three professors at the School of Medicine have been named recipients of the 25th annual Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Award, which includes a monetary prize of $20,000.

Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD, the D. H. Chen Professor and a professor of bioengineering and of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, and Carla Shatz, PhD, the Sapp Family Provostial Professor and professor of biology and of neurobiology, were recognized for their work in neuropsychiatry research.

Matthew Scott, PhD, professor of developmental biology, of genetics and of bioengineering, was recognized for his work in cancer research.

The award ceremony, which will be held May 10 in Los Angeles, is especially significant; it will be the final year the Pasarow Awards are given.

The foundation was established in 1987 to celebrate significant achievements in basic or clinical research, or both, with the key aim of increasing public awareness of critical disease areas such as cancer, heart disease and psychiatric disorders.

Stanford Medicine integrates research, medical education and patient care at its three institutions - Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford Hospital & Clinics and Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford. For more information, please visit the Office of Communication & Public Affairs site at

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: