Chief Residents

What are you looking for?

Current & Continuing Residents/Fellows resources apply to Current Chief Residents.

Meeting Schedule 2018-2019

Chief Residents Council Dinner 
When: 2nd Thursday of the month, 6:00PM - 7:00PM (see dates below)
Where: H3210 SHC Administration
Dinner will be served.

  • July 24 , 2019 *Exception*
  • August 8, 2019
  • September 12, 2019
  • October 10, 2019
  • November 14, 2019
  • December 12, 2019
  • January 9, 2020
  • February 13, 2020
  • March 12, 2020
  • April 9, 2020
  • May 14, 2020
  • June 11, 2020

Join the Council's Project as non-Chief!

If you a non-Chief Resident, you are still welcome to participate in the Chief Residents projects. Please contact the Chief co-chairs for more information.

Varun Vendra, MD, Co-Chair of the Chief Resident Council, Otolaryngology 

Sharlene Su, MD, Co-Chair of the Chief Resident Council, PM&R

Last Revised 7/29/2019


All residency and fellowship Chief Residents are part of the Chief Residents Council (CRC). The CRC is charged with planning and implementing a quality or patient safety initiative across all residencies and fellowships by the end of the council in June.

Meetings are on 2nd Thursday of the month, 6:00PM – 7:00PM, H3210 SHC Administration, dinner will be served.

The first CRC Meeting for 2019-2020 will be on Wednesday 7/24 from 6-7pm in H3210.

Attendance & Bonus

All attending CRC members must sign in the physical attendance sheet to receive attendance. In order to receive the attendance bonus, at least 8 out of 12 meetings must have 1 resident representative from the program attend the meeting. The attendance bonus is evenly rewarded to all residents of the program.


Chiefs are eligible to receive a 1% bonus if CRC completes their QI project by the end of the academic year in June 2020. Each department is eligible to receive $2,400 attendance bonus (split evenly amongst chiefs) if the total CRC attendance of the department is 8 out of 12 meetings for AY 2019-2020. CRC Co-Chairs will each receive an additional $1,000

Chief Residents are given an end-of-the-year bonus in their June paychecks for participation in the council’s project and attendance at the council meetings.


*Pediatrics Chief Residents are not eligible for bonuses

Members & Projects

2019-2020 Chief Residents Council




  • Varun Vendra, MD, Otolaryngology department
  • Sharlene Su, MD, PM&R department


  • Gregory (Greg) Atkinson, MD
  • Alexandra (Alex) Ruan, MD
  • Ashley Black, MD



  • Gordon Bae, MD
  • Hayley Leatham, MD
  • Gefei (Alex) Zhu, MD


Emergency Medicine

  • Erica Chimelski, MD
  • Haley Manella, MD 
  • Kimberly Moulton, MD 
  • Christopher Winstead-Derlega, MD

Internal Medicine

  • Surbhi Singhal, MD 
  • Amy Rogers, MD 
  • Rebecca (Becca) Tisdale, MD

Neurology - Adult

  • Shefali Dujari, MD

Neurology - Child

  • Sara Pavitt, MD


  • Aditya Iyer, MD 
  • Derek Yecies, MD 
  • Kwong-Hon (Kevin) Chow, MD

Obstetrics & Gynecology

  • Jaclyn  Estes, MD 
  • Henkel Henkel, MD 
  • Michele  Torosis, MD 


  • Cassie Ludwig, MD 
  • Arthika Chandramohan, MD 
  • Angelica Ortiz, MD
  • Luo Luo Zheng, MD

Orthopedic Surgery

  • Malcolm DeBaun, MD
  • Lawrence Goodnough, MD 
  • Kimberly Hall, MD 
  • Brian Karamian, MD 
  • Lauren Shapiro, MD 
  • Steven Swinford, MD 
  • Edward Wu, MD

Orthopedic Surgery - Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

  • Christina Giacomazzi, MD 
  • Sharlene Su, MD 
  • Emily Miller, MD


  • Cristen Olds, MD 
  • Yohan Song, MD 
  • Varun Vendra, MD


  • Atif  Salem, MD - Anatomic Pathology 

  • Jonathan Lavezo, MD - Anatomic Pathology
  • Kelly Mooney, MD - Clinical Pathology
  • Mona Wood, MD - Pathology Informatics
  • Gregory (Greg) Scott, MD - Pathology Informatics


  • Minnie Dasgupta, MD 
  • Danielle Kirkey, MD 
  • Jake  Weatherly, MD

Psychiatry - Adult

  • Jessica (Jess)  Bentzley, MD 
  • Meenakshi (Meena) Denduluri, MD 
  • Nathaniel (Ned)  Morris, MD 
  • Shervin (Dina)  Wang-Kraus, MD 
  • Diane  Wu, MD

Psychiatry - Child

  • Katherine Ort, MD 
  • Andrew Connor, MD 
  • Mandeep Kapur, MD

Radiation Oncology

  • Margaret Kozak, MD 
  • Michael  Xiang, MD 
  • Everett  Moding, MD 
  • Katy  Balazy, MD


  • Alexander  Sheu , MD - Interventional and diagnostic radiology (IR/DR)
  • Jason Pai, MD - Radiology
  • Kip Guja, MD - Nuclear Medicine
  • Pranay Kothari, MD - Radiology

Surgery - Plastic Surgery

  • Grace (Chiou)  Graw, MD 
  • Clifford  Sheckter, MD 
  • Paul  Mittermiller, MD

Surgery (General)

  • Christopher  Javadi, MD 
  • Jeffery  Jopling, MD 
  • Clement  Marshall, MD 
  • Jenny  Pan, MD 
  • Adam  Sang, MD 
  • Tiffany  Sinclair, MD 
  • Rachel  Yang, MD

Thoracic Surgery - Integrated

  • Peter Chiu, MD


  • Andrew Sun, MD 
  • William Brubaker, MD 
  • Nancy Wang, MD