February 3 Feb 3
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Wednesday Wed

Women Faculty Networking Luncheon: Iris Gibbs

Via Zoom Via Zoom (The link will be sent 2 days prior to the event to registered participants)

Via zoom: The link will be sent 2 days prior to the event to registered participants

Iris. C. Gibbs, MD, FACR, FASTRO earned a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry at University Delaware and her medicine degree from Stanford University School of Medicine.  Dr. Gibbs is a Professor of Radiation Oncology, Professor of Neurosurgery (courtesy) and Associate Dean for Medical Student Admissions at Stanford School of Medicine where she is champion of diversity and inclusion.  She has served in many educational roles at Stanford Medicine including Radiation Oncology Clerkship Director, Radiation Oncology Residency Program Director and Chair of the medical student admissions committee. 

As an advocate for clinical innovation, Dr. Gibbs served as the founding co-Director of the Stanford Cyberknife Radiosurgery Program for over a decade building world-renowned clinical programs in innovative radiation treatment for patients with central nervous system tumors and robotic radiosurgery.  Dr. Gibbs has given numerous invited lectures worldwide and published over 120 peer-reviewed publications on topics of radiosurgery of the brain and spine in children and adults.  Dr. Gibbs has earned professional recognition as Fellow of the American College of Radiology, Fellow of the American Society of Radiation Oncology, Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Fellow and Fellow of the American Association for Women Radiologists.

Dr. Gibbs received the 2002 University of Delaware Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement Award and 2019 University of Delaware Alumni Distinction Award. Dr. Gibbs has served on several local and national boards and committees including the Board of Governors of the Stanford Medical Alumni Association, the University of Delaware College of Arts & Sciences Dean’s Advisory Council, the Radiosurgery Society, the American Board of Radiology, American College of Radiology, Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) and American Society of Radiation Oncology (ASTRO). She is a past chair of the National Medical Association Section on Radiology and Radiation Oncology and the current President of the Board of the Radiosurgery Society, an international society of experts of radiosurgery.