Executive Committee

The Stanford Cardiovascular Institute Executive Committee is charged with implementing the Cardiovascular Institute strategic plan and overseeing research, education, and clinical care programs and Cardiovascular Institute operations. New initiatives that support the Cardiovascular Institute mission of lifting the burden of cardiovascular disease are discussed at Executive Committee meetings and implemented accordingly. The committee is comprised of the Director and Associate Directors in different disciplines as listed below that serve two-year terms. The Cardiovascular Institute Executive Committee represents cardiovascular research, education, and clinical care, ensuring that the Cardiovascular Institute remains the home for cardiovascular health at Stanford.

Basic Research

Marlene Rabinovitch, MD

Mark Nicolls, MD

Translational Research

Philip Tsao, PhD

Sean Wu, MD, PhD

Clinical Research

William Fearon, MD

Kenneth Mahaffey, MD

Outcome and Prevention

Mark Hlatky, MD

Paul Heidenreich, MD

Marcia Stefanick, PhD

Cardiovascular Medicine

Alan Yeung, MD

Thomas Quertermous, MD

Vascular Surgery

Ronald Dalman, MD

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Joseph Woo, MD

Cardiovascular Imaging

Dominik Fleischmann, MD

Michael McConnell, MD, MSEE

Junior Faculty Development

Edda Spiekerkoetter, MD

Finance and Administration

Jason Irwin

Education and Training

Daniel Bernstein, MD


Paul Yock, MD