April 20-21, 2020

Paul Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center, Stanford

Advances in research and technology now afford us the unique opportunity to develop and test novel diagnostics and therapeutics. This conference takes advantage of the collective experience and expertise of our participants to cover a broad range of policy, research, and venture topics. This symposium provides an invaluable forum for interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research.

Lifetime Achievement Awardees

John Schiller, PhD

Deputy Chief, Laboratory of Cellular Oncology
National Cancer Institute

Douglas Lowy, MD

National Cancer Institute


Hal Barron, MD

CSO and President

Helen Blau, PhD

Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor
Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology

Anthony Fauci, MD

NIAID Director

Cynthia Kenyon, PhD

Vice President of Aging Research

Stephen Knight, MD, MBA

President and Managing Partner
F-Prime Capital

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD

Global Head of Research and Development

Philip Pizzo, MD

David and Susan Heckerman Professor
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Emeritus Dean of Stanford School of Medicine

Mark Smith, MD, MBA

Founding President & CEO, California Healthcare Foundation

Janet Woodcock, MD

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

Howard Bauchner, MD

Editor in Chief
JAMA and the JAMA Network

Robert Califf, MD

Head of Strategy and Policy
Verily Life Sciences and Google Health Divisions of Alphabet

Christine Grady, RN, PhD

Chief of Bioethics

Paula Kiberstis, PhD

Senior Editor

Dean Li, MD, PhD

Senior Vice President, Discovery Sciences and Translational Medicine
Merck Research Laboratories

Joan Mannick, MD

Co-Founder and Chief Medical Officer

William Rutter, PhD

Chairman and CEO

Eric Topol, MD

Executive Vice President, Scripps Research Institute; Director and Founder, Scripps Research Translational

Wendy Young, PhD

Senior Vice President, Small Molecule Drug Discovery

Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

Professor Emeritus, UCSF
2009 Nobel Prize

Stanley Crooke, MD, PhD

Founder, Chairman, CEO
Ionis Pharmaceuticals

Tom Hudson, MD

Chief Scientific Officer

Peter Kim, PhD

Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor of Biochemistry
Stanford University

Fady Malik, MD, PhD, FACC, FAHA

Executive Vice President, Research and Development, Cytokinetics

Michael Nedelman

CNN, Health & Medicine

Lucy Shapiro, PhD

Director, Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Roy Vagelos, MD

Retired Chairman and CEO, Merck
Chairman of the Board, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals

Elias Zerhouni, MD

Former President for Global R&D at Sanofi
Former Director of NIH
Former US Presidential Science Envoy


Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD

  • Director, Stanford CVI
  • Simon H. Stertzer, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine (Cardiology) and Radiology
    Stanford University School of Medicine

Amanda Chase, PhD

Grant Writer and Project Coordinator
Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

Sanjay Malhotra, PhD, FRSC

Associate Professor (Research) of Radiation Oncology (Radiation and Cancer Biology) and Radiology (MIPS)
Stanford University School of Medicine

Mark Mercola, PhD

Professor of Medicine (Cardiovascular)
Stanford University School of Medicine

Kuldev Singh, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Support by (alphabetical order)

Alexandria Real Estate