Undergraduate Summer Research Program

Undergraduate summer research at Stanford CVI is supported by the American Heart Association, The National Institutes of Health, and the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute (CVI). The program is 10 weeks long and is designed to train students enrolled in a 4-year undergraduate program majoring in a scientific discipline in cardiovascular research in the laboratories of CVI-affiliated faculty members.

Each student will receive a set stipend covering living costs. The program dates will be between June 1, 2020, and August 7, 2020. The dates are slightly flexible, but we require that the student must work in the assigned Stanford labs between June and August. This will allow the CVI to plan events fostering student interactions including a visit to local Silicon Valley biotech company, meeting with a panel of faculty mentors and peers, a possible boat ride and deep-sea fishing of the Pacific Coast, and to make oral/poster presentations of their research on a designated day.

Potential mentors for these summer sessions should be CVI-member faculty (note that many of these researchers have not taken part in our program previously). You should ideally reach out and contact your preferred mentor to see if they are available for this summer session, mentioning that you are applying to CVI’s Undergraduate Summer Research program, and refer them to our website.

Former mentors and active mentors include:

Joseph Wu, MD, PhD
Program Director

Questions? Contact: David Preston, MA, MBA - preston@stanford.edu or 650-725-7964.

— Applications for 2021 will open in Fall 2020 —

Women and underrepresented minorities are especially encouraged to apply.

2020 Awardees

Samantha Churovich
Stanford University
Mentor: Michael Fischbein

Katherine Hua
Grinnell College
Mentor: Philip Yang

Courtney Obasohan
Mentor: Alison Marsden

Stefan Veizades
University of Edinbrugh
Mentor: Patricia Nguyen

Nickeisha Cuthbert
Claflin University
Mentor: Katrin Svensson

Amy Lam
Williams College
M: Edda Speikerkoetter

Aaron Panduro
CSU Fresno
Mentor: Alison Marsden

Neil Wary
Stanford University
Mentor: Marlene Rabinovitch

Lauren D'Amico
University of Washington
Mentor: Dan Bernstein

Obadiah Issachar Kirk
Western Kentucky Univ
M: Vinicio de Jesus Perez

Anson Seow
UC Merced
Mentor: Kristy Red-Horse

Samuel Wisecarver
East Tennessee State University
Mentor: Elsie Ross

Shila Deljookorani
Howard Comm. College
Mentor: Joseph Wu

Thalia Le
Emory University
Mentor: Vivek Bhalla

Robert Hickman
UC Santa Barbara
Mentor: Patricia Nguyen

Darlene Ferrer
University of Guam
Mentor: Ronglih Liao

Carissa Lee
Stanford University
Mentor: Sean Wu

Coral A. Torres Sanchez
Univ of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Mentor: Yasuhiro Shudo

Gerardo Gamino
Brigham Young University
Mentor: Fatima Rodriguez

Eries Jay Moreno
University of Guam
Mentor: Michael Ma

Lauryn Taylor
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Mentor: Michael Ma

2019 Awardees

Natasha Auer
UCSB | Mentor: Vinicio de Jesus Perez

Gabriela Escobar
Stanford University
Mentor: Sean Wu Lab

Sarah Madira
CSU Los Angeles
Mentor: Anson Lee

Caydin Sablan
University of San Francisco
Mentor: Ronglih Liao

Julianne Ballon
University of Guam
Mentor: Michael Fischbein

Breauna Franklin
Clemson University
Mentor: Nazish Sayed

Racheal Mezynski
N. Carolina State Univ
Mentors: Joe Wu & Huaxiao Yang

Lily Cheng
Univ of Michigan, AA
Mentor: Nazish Sayed

Roberto G. Hernandez
Univ of Puerto Rico
Mentor: Ke Yuan

Taylor Montiel
San Jose City College
Mentor: Joe Woo

Beatrice Choi
Stanford University
Mentor: June Rhee

Kelly Lancaster
UC Berkeley
Mentor: Ronglih Liao

Christian Beke Onana
Univ of Houston Downtown
Mentor: William Hiesinger

Lauren D'Amico
Univ of Washington
Mentor: Dan Bernstein

Rachel Lippman
Cornell University
Mentor: Mark Mercola

Raquel Racelis
San Francisco State University
Mentor: Kristy Red-Horse

Nashielli Diaz
Tufts University
Ioannis Karakikes Lab

Joseph Lohmann
University of Pennsylvania
Mentor: James Priest

Samantha Roach
Spelman College
Mentor: Yasuhiro Shudo

2018 Awardees

Jose Acosta-Julbe

Universidad de Puerto Rico
Natural Sciences College
(Vinicio de Jesus Perez Lab)

Ridhima Mishra

Stanford University
(Joseph Wu Lab)

Joy Udoh

Oberlin College
(Daniel Bernstein Lab)

Lily Cheng

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
(Joe Wu Lab)

Tyler Muser

Biola University
(Mark Mercola Lab)

Cali Loblundo

Villanova University
(Joseph Wu Lab)

Kailey Totherow

Stanford University
(Joseph Woo Lab)

Congratulations 2018 Awardees!