Mentors

Students will be matched with a clinical and/or a methodologic mentor. These mentors will be available on an ad hoc basis to advise the students during their first year of study, when much of their scholarly concentration commitment is accomplished in their didactic courses. During subsequent years, it is expected that the mentors will meet with the students approximately every three months. These meetings will focus on developing the original research project and, once initiated, reviewing the student’s progress towards successful completion of the project, anticipated to be between the third and fifth year of medical school.

Faculty Mentors for Clinical Research Scholarly Concentration

Click on a department to see a list of faculty mentors:
     
Anesthesia Neurosurgery  
Dermatology Pathology Radiation Oncology
Medicine Pediatrics Surgery
Neurology Psychiatry  

Anesthesia

  Martin S. Angst ang@stanford.edu
  Alex Macario (also belongs to HRP) amaca@stanford.edu
  Sean Mackey smackey@pain.stanford.edu
  Christina Mora Mangano ctmora@comcast.net

Dermatology

  Howard Chang howchang@stanford.edu
  David Fiorentino fiorentino@stanford.edu
  Susan Swetter sswetter@stanford.edu

Medicine

  Wes Brown wesbrown@stanford.edu
  Steve Coutre coutre@stanford.edu
  James Ford jmf@stanford.edu
  Stephen P. Fortmann Fortmann@stanford.edu
  Victor Froelicher vicmd@pacbell.net
  Mark Genovese genovese@stanford.edu
  Mary Kane Goldstein mmg@smi.stanford.edu
  Ron Levy levy@stanford.edu
  Stan Rockson srockson@cvmed.stanford.edu
  Brandy Sikic brandy@stanford.edu

Neurology

  Helen Bronte-Stewart hbs@stanford.edu

Neurosurgery

  Maxwell Boakye mboakye@stanford.edu

Pathology

Pediatrics

  Laura Bachrach lkbach@stanford.edu
  Corry Dekker cdekker@stanford.edu
  Michael Jeng mjeng@stanford.edu
  Bonnie Maldonado BonnieM@stanford.edu
  Richard Moss rmoss@stanford.edu
  William Rhine wrhine@stanford.edu
  David Rosenthal davidnr@stanford.edu
  Stephen J. Roth SRoth@stanford.edu
  Minnie Sarwal MSarwal@stanford.edu
  David Stevenson dstevenson@stanford.edu
  Krisa Van Meurs vanmeurs@stanford.edu

Psychiatry

  Jed Black jblack@stanford.edu
  Kiki Chang kchang88@stanford.edu
  Dolores Gallagher-Thompson dolorest@stanford.edu
  Cheryl Koopman koopman@stanford.edu
  James Lock jimlock@stanford.edu
  Vinod Menon menon@stanford.edu
  Allan L. Reiss reiss@stanford.edu
  Alan Schatzberg afschatz@stanford.edu
  Hans Steiner steiner@stanford.edu

Radiation Oncology

  Albert Koong akoong@stanford.edu

Surgery

  John Morton morton@stanford.edu
  Sherry M. Wren swren@stanford.edu