Directors of Cancer Biology Program

Laura Attardi


Departments of Radiation Oncology and Genetics

Julien Sage


Departments of Pediatrics and Genetics

Name School
Anthony Boutelle University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Kathryn Driest Washington and Lee University
Shawn Gillespie SUNY Oneonta
Emily Hamilton Columbia University
Julie Ko Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Albert Li Harvard University
Irene Li Michigan State University
Cesar Marquez Harvard University / Current Stanford MD Student
Sarah Pierce Brown University
Stanford Schor California Institute of Technology / Current Stanford MD Student
Ronald Shanderson Georgia State University
Thomas Silvers Davidson College    

Program News

Jan 5, 2017

Forbes 30 Under 30: Science

Congratulations to Michelle Atallah (and her PIs Ed Engleman and Parag Mallick) for being selected in the top "30 under 30" by Forbes.

Science judge Cigall Kadoch was a Cancer Biology graduate student in Gerald Crabtree lab.

Dec 4, 2016

Roeland Nusse wins $3 million Breakthrough Prize

Roeland Nusse, PhD, the Virginia and Daniel K. Ludwig Professor in Cancer Research and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, was honored this evening with a 2017 Breakthrough Prize in life sciences.

Nov 15, 2016

4th Bay Area Lung Symposium

Class 2016
PhD Lab Coat Ceremony

Sept 28, 2016

Sept 21, 2016

One Billion Base Pairs Sequenced on the Space Station

Aboard the International Space Station, NASA astronaut Kate Rubins checks a sample for air bubbles prior to loading it in the biomolecule sequencer. When Rubins’ expedition began, zero base pairs of DNA had been sequenced in space. Within just a few weeks, she and the Biomolecule Sequencer team had sequenced their one billionth base of DNA on the orbiting laboratory.

June 30, 2016

The crew for the next mission to the International Space Station includes Kate Rubins, a NASA astronaut who left a faculty position at MIT to join the space program in 2009. Kate Rubins was a Cancer Biology graduate student at Stanford, where she studied the host response to smallpox and Ebola infection with Pat Brown and David Relman. She then left for MIT as a Whitehead fellow, where she continued that work, including field studies in the Democratic Republic of Congo. According to the attached interview with Scientific American, she will be trying to sequence DNA on the ISS. The mission launches on July 6 from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan:

June 13, 2016

2016 Stanford Biosciences “Excellence in Mentoring and Service Award”

Amato Giaccia, PhD, the Jack, Lulu and Sam Willson Professor and a professor of radiation oncology, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Service. This award recognizes faculty who make distinguished contributions toward enhancing the quality of training and the educational experience for biosciences graduate students.


Cancer Biology Program


2016 NSF Awards: Cancer Biology Program

NSF recipients:

Andrea Chaikovsky - Class of 2015 

Joshua Eggold - Class of 2015 

Sean Hunter - Class of 2014 (P.I.: Jennifer Cochran)

Zintis Inde - Class of 2014 (P.I.: Scott Dixon)

Christpher Murray - Class of 2015

Andrew Spencley - Class of 2015

NSF Honorable Mentions:

John Coan - Class of 2015  

Brittany Flowers - Class of 2015

Alyssa Kaiser - Class of 2015

Cancer Biology Program Photos