Scientific Review Committee

The Scientific Review Committee

The Scientific Review Committee (SRC) is charged with providing peer review of local, national, and international research studies involving cancer patients treated at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital and Stanford Hospital and Clinics; and study participants involved in cancer-related research at Stanford University. The primary focus of scientific review is on the scientific merit, feasibility, and utilization of Cancer Center resources.

Studies Requiring SRC Review

SRC review is a requirement of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) as part of our cancer center designation. 

  • All clinical interventional studies that involve 
    • Cancer
    • Cancer prevention
    • Survivorship
  • All non-interventional studies that have not undergone peer review by an NCI accepted organization that involve 
    • Cancer
    • Cancer prevention
    • Survivorship
  • Prospective studies of tissue and/or body fluids with a scientific hypothesis that have not undergone review by either the SCI Tissue Bank or peer review. 
  • Studies in which the eligibility criteria requires a cancer diagnosis regardless if the study’s focus is cancer or not. 


Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates 2020

Dec December 04 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180


Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates 2021

Jan January 11 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Feb February 08 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Mar March 08 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Apr April 12 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

May May 10 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jun June 14 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jul July 12 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Aug August 09 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Sep September 13 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Oct October 11 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 08 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Dec December 13 Mon 2021

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jan January 22 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Feb February 26 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Mar March 26 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Apr April 23 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

May May 28 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Jun June 25 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Jul July 23 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Aug August 27 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Sep September 24 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Oct October 22 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 19 Fri 2021

Friday

Noon, FC180

SRC Submission Process

All new cancer-related clinical trials proposing involvement of Stanford subjects (treatment and non-treatment) must be reviewed and approved by the the SRC. 


SRC Documents