Scientific Review Committee

The Scientific Review Committee

The Scientific Review Committee (SRC) is charged with providing peer review of local, national, and international research studies involving cancer patients treated at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital and Stanford Hospital and Clinics; and study participants involved in cancer-related research at Stanford University. The primary focus of scientific review is on the scientific merit, feasibility, and utilization of Cancer Center resources.

Studies Requiring SRC Review

SRC review is a requirement of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) as part of our cancer center designation. 

  • All clinical interventional studies that involve 
    • Cancer
    • Cancer prevention
    • Survivorship
  • All non-interventional studies that have not undergone peer review by an NCI accepted organization that involve 
    • Cancer
    • Cancer prevention
    • Survivorship
  • Prospective studies of tissue and/or body fluids with a scientific hypothesis that have not undergone review by either the SCI Tissue Bank or peer review. 
  • Studies in which the eligibility criteria requires a cancer diagnosis regardless if the study’s focus is cancer or not. 
  • All interventional studies based at the Cancer Prevention Institute of California (CPIC).


Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates 2019

Oct October 25 Fri 2019

Friday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 22 Fri 2019

Friday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 11 Mon 2019

Monday

Noon, FC180

Dec December 09 Mon 2019

Monday

Noon, FC180


Scientific Review Committee Meeting Dates 2020

Jan January 13 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Feb February 10 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Mar March 09 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Apr April 06 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

May May 11 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jun June 08 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jul July 13 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Aug August 10 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Sep September 14 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Oct October 12 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 09 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Dec December 14 Mon 2020

Monday

Noon, FC180

Jan January 24 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Feb February 28 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Mar March 27 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Apr April 17 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

May May 22 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Jun June 26 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Jul July 24 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Aug August 28 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Sep September 25 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Oct October 23 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

Nov November 20 Fri 2020

Friday

Noon, FC180

SRC Submission Process

All new cancer-related clinical trials proposing involvement of Stanford subjects (treatment and non-treatment) must be reviewed and approved by the the SRC. 


SRC Documents