Faculty Advisors

See the People, Arts, Humanities, and Medicine Program and advisors of prior BEMH MedScholars projects for further ideas for mentorship and advising.

  • Mildred Cho, PhD
    Professor (Research) of Pediatrics; Associate Director, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
    micho@stanford.edu
  • Julie A. Collier, PhD
    Clinical Instructor, Pediatrics and Genetics
    collier@stanford.edu
  • Carl Feinstein, MD
    Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Child Development
    carlf@stanford.edu
  • Maren Grainger-Monsen, MD
    Senior Research Scholar; Director, Program in Biomedical Ethics and Film, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
    mmonsen@stanford.edu
  • Henry Greely, JD
    Chair of Steering Committee, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics; Professor of Law; Professor, by courtesy, of Genetics
    hgreely@stanford.edu
  • Agnieszka Jaworska, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Philosophy
    jaworska@stanford.edu
  • Shaili Jain, MBchB, MD
    Medical Director, Primary Care - Behavioral Health Team, VA Palo Also Health Care System Clinical Assistant Professor (affiliated), Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    sjain1@stanford.edu
  • Katrina Karkazis, PhD, MPH
    Senior Research Scholar, Center for Biomedical Ethics
    karkazis@stanford.edu
  • David Kerns, MD
    Adjunct Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
    dgkerns@msn.com
  • Ami Laws, MD
    Adjunct Associate Professor Medicine
    amilaws@earthlink.net
  • Sandra S. Lee, PhD
    Senior Research Scholar, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
    sandra.lee@stanford.edu
  • David Magnus, PhD
    Director, Center for Biomedical Ethics, Thomas A Raffin Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Ethics, Professor of Pediatrics
    dmagnus@stanford.edu
  • Jose R. Maldonado, MD
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University Medical Center
    jrm@stanford.edu
  • Michael Marmor, MD
    Professor of Ophthalmology
    marmor@stanford.edu
  • Stephen Murphy-Shigematsu, EdD
    Consulting Professor Anesthesia and Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity
    smshige@stanford.edu
  • Christian Pariseau, MD
    Clinical Instructor, Pediatrics, Division of Adolescent Medicine
    cpariseau@stanford.edu
  • Rebecka Peebles, MD, FAAP
    Instructor; Division of Adolescent Medicine; Center for Healthy Weight; Department of Pediatrics
    rpeebles@stanford.edu
  • Audrey Shafer, MD
    Professor of Anesthesia; Staff Anesthesiologist, Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System; Director, Program in Arts, Humanities and Medicine, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
    ashafer@stanford.edu
  • Christopher Scott, MA
    Senior Research Scholar in the Center for Biomedical Ethics
    cscott@stanford.edu
  • Sakti Srivastava, MBBS, MS
    Associate Professor, Surgery and Bioengineering (by courtesy) Chief, Division of Clinical Anatomy, Course Director: Art and Anatom
    sakti.srivastava@stanford.edu
  • Sara L. Tobin, PhD
    Senior Research Scholar in the Program for Genomics, Ethics, and Society
    tobinsl@stanford.edu
  • Abraham Verghese, MD, MACP
    Professor and Senior Associate Chair for the Theory and Practice of Medicine Department of Medicine
    abrahamv@stanford.edu
  • Lawrence I. Zaroff, MD, PhD
    Consulting Professor, Human Biology, Senior Research Scholar, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
    larryz.zaroff@gmail.com