Critical Care Medicine

Stanford University Medical Center offers one-year Anesthesiology Critical Care Fellowships and two-year Internal Medicine Critical Care Fellowships.  Both Fellowships are ACGME-accredited. These training programs emphasize clinical experience as well as didactic learning and scholarly activities. Both Fellowships begin with a one-month rotation during which new fellows serve as residents in the Stanford Medical-Surgical ICU. This transition month provides new fellows exposure to the workflow and systems at Stanford Hospital. During subsequent rotations, Fellows supervise residents from Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine, and Emergency Medicine residency programs. Progressive independence is built into the clinical training.

The scholarly activities of Fellows range from quality improvement/patient safety initiatives to clinical research to applied basic science investigations. Stanford Critical Care Faculty serve as mentors for these projects and provide expertise in fields as diverse as clinical outcomes research, echocardiography, simulation, cardiopulmonary physiology, sedation for the critically ill, and global health.      

Fellowship Program Directors

  • Anesthesia: Erin Hennessey, MD
  • Internal Medicine: Ann Weinacker, MD
  • Surgery: David Spain, MD