Stanford Alzheimer's Disease Research Center Events

Events

Living with Alzheimer's: For People with Early Stage Alzheimer's

Dates (please attend all three):
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Time: 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Location: San Jose, CA
Registration is required. Please contact Vanessa Souza at 408.372.9976 or vsouza@alz.org.

Topics covered will include:

  • Understanding Alzheimer’s disease and memory loss
  • Legal, financial and resource planning that needs to be done in the early stage
  • Components of a care team and how to successfully work with each component during the early stage of the disease

Living With Alzheimer’s: For Early Stage Care Partners

Dates (please attend all three):
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Time: 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Location: San Jose, CA
Registration is required. Please contact Vanessa Souza at 408.372.9976 or vsouza@alz.org.

Topics covered will include:

  • Symptoms of the early stage of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Legal, financial and resource planning that needs to be done in the early stage
  • Components of a care team and how to successfully work with each component during the early stage of the disease

20th Annual Updates on Dementia Conference: Translating Research into Practice

Thursday, May 10, 2018
8 am - 4:15 pm
South San Francisco Conference Center,  255 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080

Early bird pricing available until April 9th. 

7 CE credits available for PSY, RN, LVN, LMFT, LCSW, RCFE and NHA license types. 

View conference details and register at www.updatesondementia.com 

Bilingual Alzheimer’s Education Day

Friday, June 8th 2018
9:30 am to 1:30 pm
Antioch Senior Center, 415 West  2nd St., Antioch CA 94509 

This free, four-hour senior health resource fair and education event for family members and professionals will be covering topics relating to Alzheimer’s disease awareness and risk reduction.  It is organized by the Alzheimer’s Association of Northern California in collaboration with the Antioch Senior Center and UC Davis in the East Bay, in honor of Alzheimer’s Awareness Month.  

Speakers:

  • Sandra Green, LVN, Family Care Specialist with the Alzheimer’s Association
  • Antoinette Lopez, MD, MPH Associate Physician Diplomate at UC Davis Alzheimer’s Disease Center-East Bay
     

We will be providing materials in Spanish and English on Alzheimer’s disease and related care, and our guests speakers will be presenting information on Alzheimer’s research, risk reduction, and recognizing the 10 warning signs of Alzheimer’s.    

Please join us for this free event! Together we can raise awareness and support our community. 

5th Annual Alzheimer’s Latino Conference

Sunday, April 22, 2018
Time: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Program begins at 9 a.m.

This conference will be presented in Spanish

Mexican Heritage Plaza
1700 Alum Rock Ave.
San Jose, CA 95116

2018 Walk to End Alzheimer's - Silicon Valley, CA

Take the first step to a world without Alzheimer's.

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Neurodegeneration Conference

Sponsored by the Movement Disorders and Memory Disorders Divisions, Department of Neurology & Neurological Sciences

All Neurodegenerative conferences are held in the
Basement of SNHC in Room 0511, Tuesdays,  4-5pm

Jul July 18 Tue 2017

Topic: Corticobasal Ganglia Circuit

Speaker: Helen Bronte-Stewart, MD, MSE

Jul July 25 Tue 2017

Topic: UPDRS review (MDS) 

Aug August 08 Tue 2017

Topic: Tremor

Melanie Lising, MD

Aug August 15 Tue 2017

CBS (Corticobasal Syndrome)/CBD (Corticobasal Degeneration)

Sharon Sha, MD

Aug August 22 Tue 2017

Lewy Body, MSA, PDD

Kathleen Poston, MD, MS

Aug August 29 Tue 2017

Candidate Case Presentation

Hannah Walters, MD

Sep September 05 Tue 2017

White Matter Disease

Keith Van Haren, MD

MSLS, Room P213

Sep September 26 Tue 2017

Topic: Frontal Lobe Syndrome

Kim Meaford

Oct October 10 Tue 2017

Topic: Intraoperative Monitoring

Melanie Lising, MD

Oct October 17 Tue 2017

Cervical Dystonia Denervation

 Thomas Wilson, MD

Oct October 24 Tue 2017

Huntinton's Disease

Hokuto Morita

Nov November 07 Tue 2017

Topic: Wilson's Disease

Laurice Yang, MD

Nov November 14 Tue 2017

Topic: Ataxia

Veronic Santini, MD, MA

Nov November 28 Tue 2017

Topic: Available Resources for Patients

Robin Riddle

Jan January 23 Tue 2018

Restless Leg Syndrome

Dr. Miglis

Jan January 30 Tue 2018

PT and Parkinson’s Disease

Chelsea Macpherson

Feb February 06 Tue 2018

Neurodegeneration Seminar: “Why Alzheimer phase 3 traisl fail and how we can improve chances for success: 30 years of clinic drug development”

ADRC/UDALL Dr. Lon Schneider

Feb February 13 Tue 2018

CBD

Dr. Kaul

Mar March 06 Tue 2018

PDD vs. DLB

Dr. Kaul

Mar March 13 Tue 2018

Estrogen Effects on Cognitive Aging and Dementia

Dr. Victor Henderson

Mar March 20 Tue 2018

Cognitive Changes in Parkinson’s

Dr. Shefali Dujari  

Apr April 03 Tue 2018

Myoclonus/video rounds

Dr. Kaul

Apr April 10 Tue 2018

Tics/video rounds

Dr. Kaul

Apr April 17 Tue 2018

Genetics of Alzheimer’s Disease

Dr. Li-San Wang, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Pennsylvania.

Apr April 24 Tue 2018

No lecture



Contact Us

Stanford Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center
213 Quarry Road
Palo Alto, CA 94305

Tel (650) 721-2409
Fax (650) 723-7434

Email: adrcstanford@stanford.edu

THANK YOU: PADDLEFEST 2016

Last year Bret Warner organized a Paddlefest to honor his father Chuck Werner and to help support the Stanford ADRC.

Meetings

Stanford Neurology & Neurological Sciences

Stanford Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

Stanford Neurosciences Institute

Frontiers in Aging Seminar Series

Walk to End Alzheimer's October 14, 2017